top of page
Search

Project #2 Soundscape

Updated: Oct 9, 2019

 






For this project we were given the task of using 10 unique sounds in our own personal soundscape. Based off the work of John Cage’s ‘4:33’ our compositions were each around four minutes and thirty seconds. For my project I decided to use all of the recordings I could find that had water incorporated in some way, between ice falling into a glass and pulls from a “water pipe”, I found myself creating a composition that sounded unlike any music I have heard before. I also used a synthesizer to mirror the movement of water to compliment the other sounds. This project was a bit difficult for me because I wanted to create a musical composition instead of an abstract sound art piece. At times I felt like my composition was a bit too cluttered and wasn’t very pleasing to the ears. However, I stuck with it and created an entire soundscape out of recorded noises of water. I wanted my piece to have the illusion of movement, so I changed the pitch and tempo of many of my sounds to indicate the movement of water. Overall, I feel as though this composition pays homage to John Cage’s original premise of anything can be music if you present it the right way.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

PopQuiz: Webventure

https://sibu2209.wixsite.com/mysite-1/popquiz-6-webventure

bottom of page